How much does a restoration answering service cost?
On October 23, 2026, the published prices we checked put a restoration answering service at $79 to $1,440 a month for 150 four-minute calls. AI receptionists came in at $79 to $299 for that volume. Live answering services came in at $783 to $1,440, and most of them bill per minute and round every call up to the next whole minute. In a storm month with three times the calls, the per-minute live plans passed $2,300 while every AI plan stayed under $1,000.
Those numbers come from each vendor's own pricing page, checked on October 23, 2026, and from a simple model you can rerun with your own call counts. This guide is for owners and office managers of water, fire and mold restoration companies comparing quotes. We build Botcadence, which sells an AI restoration answering service, so we are not neutral. Every price below has a source link, and the services that are cheaper than us at some volumes say so in the tables.
How restoration answering services charge
There are five pricing models in this market, and the model matters more than the headline price, because it decides what happens to your bill on the nights restoration volume spikes.
| Pricing model | How the bill works | Examples | What raises the bill |
|---|
| Per minute, live operators | Monthly plan with included minutes, then a per-minute rate | AnswerForce, AnswerConnect, MAP Communications, Specialty Answering Service, PATLive, Ruby | Every extra minute, rounding, and after-call work at some services |
| Per call | Plan with included calls, then a per-call rate | Smith.ai (AI and live plans) | Every extra call |
| Per unique caller | Plan with included callers, counted once a month per phone number | Goodcall | New callers |
| Per minute, AI | Plan with included AI minutes, then a per-minute rate or a move to a bigger plan | Botcadence, Callbook, Rosie, My AI Front Desk | Extra minutes |
| Flat monthly | One price, with unlimited calls or a price scoped to your volume | Sevby, LeadFix AI, Dolfyn | Build or setup fees, and a new quote if volume grows a lot |
Restoration answering service prices, checked October 23, 2026
Prices are US list prices from each vendor's own page. "Not stated" means the page loaded and did not say.
| Service | Type | Entry price | Included | Extra usage | Setup | Billing rule |
|---|
| Botcadence Voice AI | AI | $299 a month | 1,500 minutes | $35 per 200 minutes | Done for you in about 5 business days | 15-second minimum, then 30-second steps |
| Sevby | AI, restoration only | $299 a month | Unlimited calls | None | Not stated | Flat |
| LeadFix AI | AI, several trades | $497 a month after hours, $597 24/7 | Not stated | Not stated | $1,797 one-time build | Flat |
| Dolfyn | AI | From $179 a month | Scoped to your call volume | No per-minute fees | Included | Flat, adjusted if volume grows a lot |
| Goodcall | AI | $79 a month | 100 unique callers (about 150 calls, by Goodcall's estimate) | 79 cents per extra caller | Not stated | Per caller; spam and wrong numbers not counted |
| Rosie | AI | $49 a month | 250 minutes | Moves you to a bigger plan: $149 for 1,000, $299 for 2,000 | Not stated | Rounded up to the next minute |
| Callbook | AI | $149 a month | 300 minutes | 40 cents a minute | None listed | Per AI minute; calls sent to voicemail or forwarded before the AI answers are not counted |
| My AI Front Desk | AI | $99 a month ($79 billed yearly) | 200 minutes | 25 cents a minute | Not stated | Per minute |
| Smith.ai AI receptionist | AI | $150 a month | 75 calls | $2.50 a call | Not stated | Per call; known spam filtered, and up to 10% of calls can be removed each cycle |
| Smith.ai live receptionists | Live | $300 a month | 30 calls | $11.50 a call | None | Per call; spam and sales calls not charged when caller ID comes through |
| AnswerForce | Live | $349 a month | 200 minutes | $2.00 a minute ($1.85 on bigger plans) | $75 on the $349 plan | Rounded up to the minute; first 30 calls under 30 seconds free each cycle |
| AnswerConnect | Live | $350 a month | 200 minutes | $2.50 a minute ($1.85 on bigger plans) | $49.99 on some plans | Calls over 30 seconds rounded up to the minute; after-call work billed |
| MAP Communications | Live | $49 a month plus $1.37 a minute | None ($339 for 250 minutes) | $1.28 to $1.37 a minute | Not stated | Rounded up to the minute; after-call work counted; 2.4-cent fee per call |
| Specialty Answering Service | Live | $44 a month plus $1.54 a minute | None ($159 for 100 minutes) | $1.34 to $1.54 a minute | None | Billed by the second |
| PATLive | Live | $49 a month plus $2.99 a minute | None ($99 for 50 minutes, $349 for 200) | $1.49 to $2.99 a minute | None listed | After-call work not billed |
| Ruby | Live | $250 a month | 50 minutes | Not published | None | 60-second increments, per its FAQ; hold time and after-call work billed |
AnswerForce's prices come from its plan sheet at answerforce.com/plans-direct, which its main pricing page does not link to. If you're on AnswerForce and weighing a switch, our AnswerForce alternatives for restoration companies page compares nine options and says when to stay. AnswerConnect's come from its own plans page, because its old pricing URL now returns an error.
What the bill looks like at 50, 150 and 450 calls
Plan sizes only mean something at your volume, so we priced each service at three call counts.
How the model works:
- Call length. Each call takes 4 minutes of talk. That is our assumption, so swap in the average from your own phone bill.
- Rounding. Services that round up to the next minute bill about 4.5 minutes for a 4-minute call. Botcadence's 30-second steps bill about 4.25 minutes. Per-second billing bills 4.
- Plan choice. For 50 and 150 calls we used each vendor's cheapest published plan.
- Storm month. 450 calls (three times normal) on the plan you would already have for 150 calls, because nobody switches plans for one bad week.
- Not included. After-call work, hold time, holiday fees and taxes. At the services that bill them, they only push the bill up.
| Service | 50 calls | 150 calls | Storm month (450 calls) |
|---|
| Goodcall | $79 | $79 | $237 |
| Rosie | $49 | $149 | $299 or more (the plan above 2,000 minutes is not listed) |
| My AI Front Desk | $99 | $199 | $499 |
| Callbook | $149 | $269 | $749 |
| Smith.ai AI receptionist | $150 | $270 | $960 |
| Sevby | $299 | $299 | $299 |
| Botcadence Voice AI | $299 | $299 | $404 |
| LeadFix AI (24/7) | $597 | $597 | $597, plus the $1,797 build in month one |
| Specialty Answering Service | $269 | $783 | $2,391 |
| MAP Communications | $310 | $877 | $2,612 |
| AnswerForce | $389 | $993 | $3,490 |
| AnswerConnect | $395 | $1,084 | $3,581 |
| Smith.ai live receptionists | $530 | $1,440 | $4,590 |
Dolfyn quotes a flat price scoped to your volume (from $179), and says storm spikes do not change the bill. Ruby and PATLive are left out of this table because the rates for their bigger plans are not all published. For what each of these services does on a 2 am water call, and which to pick for your situation, see best answering services for restoration companies.
Why the same 150 calls cost $79 at one service and $1,440 at another
People cost more than software. A live receptionist's time is the product, so live plans start near $1.28 a minute and per-call live plans near $8.50 a call. AI plans price minutes in cents.
Rounding adds up. AnswerForce, AnswerConnect, MAP and Rosie round each call up to the next whole minute, so a 3-minute-10-second call is billed as 4, and Ruby's FAQ describes 60-second increments. Specialty Answering Service bills by the second, and Botcadence bills 15 seconds and then 30-second steps.
After-call work and hold time. MAP, AnswerConnect and Ruby count the minutes an operator spends writing up the call after you hang up. Ruby also counts hold time. PATLive says it does not bill after-call work.
Spam and wrong numbers.
- Goodcall does not count spam or wrong numbers.
- Smith.ai's live plans do not charge for spam or sales calls, as long as the forwarded calls carry caller ID.
- Smith.ai's AI plan filters known spammers and lets you remove up to 10% of calls each cycle.
- AnswerForce and AnswerConnect do not charge for the first 30 calls under 30 seconds each cycle.
- On Botcadence a 10-second robocall is billed as 15 seconds.
Fees outside the monthly price.
- LeadFix AI charges a $1,797 build fee.
- AnswerForce charges $75 setup on its smallest plan, and AnswerConnect $49.99 on some plans.
- MAP's terms add a 2.4-cent fee per call and a holiday fee on seven major holidays, with the amount not published.
What a storm month does to the bill
A freeze or a hurricane does not change what a call is worth, but it changes what per-minute plans cost.
- AnswerForce: in the model, the $669 plan that costs $993 at 150 calls costs $3,490 at 450. That is $1.85 for each of the 1,525 minutes over the plan.
- Flat plans (Sevby, LeadFix AI and Dolfyn) do not move.
- AI plans priced by the minute rise more gently: Botcadence goes from $299 to $404, and Callbook from $269 to $749.
Ask one more question about storm nights: how many calls the service answers at the same time. Live services depend on how many operators are logged in. AI services have a concurrent-call limit, and on Botcadence it is set per account, so ask what yours is before storm season. For the intake side of a storm night, see restoration answering service vs call center.
Cost per booked job: the number to compare
The monthly bill matters less than what each booked job costs you, which is the bill divided by the jobs that came from answered calls. Suppose 30 of 150 monthly calls turn into booked jobs:
| Monthly bill | Cost per booked job (30 jobs) |
|---|
| $79 (Goodcall) | $3 |
| $299 (Botcadence or Sevby) | $10 |
| $993 (AnswerForce) | $33 |
| $1,440 (Smith.ai live receptionists) | $48 |
What a job is worth:
- A water damage restoration job averages about $3,000 nationally (Fixr, updated January 2025).
- A water-damage lead from Google Local Services Ads averaged $215 in 2026 (99 Calls data, reported by Lead Smart in September 2026).
- Water and freeze homeowners claims averaged $15,400 from 2019 to 2023 (Triple-I, from ISO/Verisk data). That is the whole insured loss, not your invoice.
Against those numbers, the gap between plans is small. The difference that matters is how many 2 am calls become booked jobs, which depends on:
- whether the call is answered
- whether the intake captures the address, the source of the water and the insurance details
- whether your on-call technician actually wakes up
Measure that during a trial, not just the price per minute.
Prices you have to ask for
Four services that come up in restoration searches do not publish prices:
- Nexa sells 100, 300 and 500-minute plans with a setup fee.
- Answering365 has eight plans behind a "get pricing" button, and bills extra minutes in 30-second increments.
- AnswerUnited's pricing page would not load for us.
- Hank publishes no prices on its own site. A third-party listing shows it from $449 a month.
When you ask for a quote, ask for these in writing:
- The billing increment, and whether after-call work and hold time count.
- What spam, wrong numbers and hang-ups cost.
- Holiday, weekend and after-hours fees.
- Setup or build fees, the contract length and the notice period.
- The bill for your busiest month last year, not your quietest.
- How many calls the service answers at the same time.
Where Botcadence fits
Restoration companies run Botcadence on the Voice AI plan. Here is what that includes and how it bills.
Price: $299 a month for 1,500 minutes, then $35 per 200 extra minutes.
Billing: a 15-second minimum, then 30-second steps, so hang-ups and spam use seconds rather than whole calls.
Setup: done with you in about 5 business days, and you keep your number.
On each call:
- tells anyone unsafe to hang up and dial 911
- records the water source, the affected areas and the insurance details, in English or Spanish
- for active losses, texts and calls your on-call technicians, then backups, until someone acknowledges
- books contained losses into Google Calendar
The AI receptionist for restoration page shows the fields it captures. The AI for restoration companies page covers website chat, follow-up and reviews beyond the phone, and the AI answering service pricing guide compares the cost models outside restoration.
It is not the cheapest option at every volume:
- Low volume: Goodcall and Rosie cost less for a shop with few calls.
- Storm months: Sevby's flat $299 with unlimited calls costs less in a storm month.
- A person on every call: a live service will cost more, but it is the right buy if that is what you want.
Our advice:
- Price your busiest month.
- Test-call every shortlisted service at 2 am with a burst-pipe story.
- Then compare the cost per booked job.