Skip to content
Industry Solutions

HVAC Answering Service Cost in 2026: Prices From 14 Services

What 14 HVAC answering services and AI receptionists charge, checked on their own pricing pages on October 23, 2026: pricing models, October and June bills, after-hours-only bills, the fine print and cost per booked job.

Jaffar Jawed ยท Co-Founder
Published
11 min read
  • HVAC
  • Pricing
  • Answering Service
  • Comparison
In short

Quick answer

On October 23, 2026, published prices put an HVAC answering service at $129 to $2,100 a month for 250 three-minute calls: AI receptionists at $129 to $789 and live services at $1,281 to $2,100. In a June peak with twice the calls, live plans reached $2,900 to $3,800. Botcadence's HVAC answering service is $299 for 1,500 minutes.

How much does an HVAC answering service cost?

On October 23, 2026, the published prices we checked put an HVAC answering service at $129 to $2,100 a month for 250 three-minute calls. AI receptionists came in at $129 to $789 for that volume, and live answering services at $1,281 to $2,100. In a June peak month with twice the calls, the live plans reached $2,900 to $3,800 while most AI plans stayed under $500. If you only forward calls after hours, the bill is much smaller: $29 to $772 a month at the volumes in our model.

Every price comes from the vendor's own pricing page or help center, checked on October 23, 2026, and the bills come from a simple model you can rerun with your own call counts. This guide is for owners and office managers of residential HVAC companies comparing quotes. We build Botcadence, which sells an AI HVAC answering service, so we are not neutral. Every price has a source link, and the services that cost less than us say so in the tables.

How HVAC answering services charge

The pricing model matters more than the headline price, because it decides what happens to your bill in the first heat wave.

Pricing modelHow the bill worksExamplesWhat raises the bill
Per minute, live operatorsMonthly plan with included minutes, then a per-minute ratePATLive, AnswerConnect, RubyEvery extra minute, and rounding up to the minute
Per call or conversationPlan with included calls or conversations, then a per-call rateSmith.ai (AI and live plans), Jobber ReceptionistEvery extra call
Per unique callerPlan with included callers, counted once a month per phone numberGoodcallNew callers
Per minute, AIPlan with included AI minutes, then a per-minute rate or a bigger planBotcadence, Rosie, My AI Front Desk, SamedayExtra minutes
Usage inside your field-service softwareBilled with your software subscription, often without a public priceServiceTitan AI Voice Agent, Housecall Pro CSR AIEvery call, at ServiceTitan

HVAC answering service prices, checked October 23, 2026

Prices are US list prices from each vendor's own page. "Not stated" means the page loaded and did not say.

ServiceTypeEntry priceIncludedExtra usageBilling rule
Botcadence Voice AIAI$299 a month1,500 minutes$35 per 200 minutes15-second minimum, then 30-second steps
RosieAI$49 a month250 minutes ($149 for 1,000, $299 for 2,000)Not stated; you move up a planNot stated on the pricing page
GoodcallAI$79 a month100 unique callers ($129 for 500, $299 for 2,000)79 cents per extra caller on Starter, 26 cents on Growth, 15 cents on ScalePer caller per month; spam and wrong numbers not counted; minutes not metered
My AI Front DeskAI$99 a month ($79 billed yearly)200 minutes25 cents a minutePer minute, drawn from a monthly credit pool
SamedayAI, home services$449 a month500 minutes ($789 for 1,000)Not statedNot stated
Smith.ai AI receptionistAI$150 a month75 calls (larger tiers at $1.80 and $1.67 a call)$2.50 a call ($2.30 and $2.17 on larger tiers)Per call; known spammers filtered, and up to 10% of calls can be removed each cycle
Jobber ReceptionistAI, inside Jobber$29 a month add-on30 conversations79 cents per conversationCalls count when the AI engages the caller; spam and no-interaction calls not counted; included with unlimited use on Jobber's Plus plan
Housecall Pro CSR AIAI, inside Housecall ProNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
ServiceTitan AI Voice AgentAI, inside ServiceTitanNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedBilled on usage; every call counts, whatever its outcome
AvocaAI, home servicesNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
PATLiveLive$49 a month plus $2.99 a minuteNone ($349 for 200 minutes)$1.49 to $2.99 a minute, by planAfter-call notes and wrap-up not billed
AnswerConnectLive$350 a month200 minutes$2.50 a minute ($1.85 on bigger plans)Rounded up to the minute; first 30 interactions under 30 seconds free each cycle; $49.99 setup on some plans
RubyLive$250 a month50 minutes ($395 for 100, $720 for 200)Not publishedNot stated on the pricing page
Smith.ai live receptionistsLive$300 a month30 calls ($810 for 90, $2,100 for 300)$11.50 a call ($10.50 and $8.50 on bigger plans)Per call

Two things the table can't show:

  • The software you need first. Jobber Receptionist and Housecall Pro CSR AI are add-ons to those platforms. ServiceTitan's AI Voice Agent is for residential contractors in the US and Canada on its Essentials and Works packages, with Basic Phones or Phones Pro. The software subscription isn't in these numbers.
  • What a "conversation" or "caller" is. Jobber counts a text thread as one conversation for up to 24 hours. Goodcall counts one phone number once a month, so a customer who calls three times in June is one caller.

What the bill looks like in October and in June

Plan sizes only mean something at your volume, so we priced each service for the same shop in its quiet month and its peak month.

How the model works:

  • Volume. 250 calls in October and 500 in June. These are our assumptions for a small residential shop, not industry figures; put in your own counts from your phone system.
  • Call length. 3 minutes of talk per call, also an assumption. Check the average in your phone system's call log.
  • Rounding. Where a service bills whole minutes or doesn't state its increment, we billed 3.5 minutes per call. Botcadence's 30-second steps bill about 3.25. Goodcall, Jobber and Smith.ai bill per caller, conversation or call, so length doesn't matter.
  • Plan choice. We used the cheapest published plan for October and kept it for June, because most shops don't change plans for one month. Where a plan has no published overage, we moved up to the next plan.
  • Every call counted. For Goodcall we counted each call as a new caller, so repeat callers would make its bill lower.
  • Not included. Taxes, setup fees, holiday fees and your field-service software.
ServiceOctober (250 calls)June (500 calls)
Goodcall$129$129
Rosie$149$299 (moved up to the 2,000-minute plan)
Jobber Receptionist (on a non-Plus plan)$203$400
My AI Front Desk$268$487
Botcadence Voice AI$299$334
Smith.ai AI receptionist$500$935
Sameday$789Above $789 (overage not published)
AnswerConnect$1,281$2,900
PATLive$1,430$2,997
Smith.ai live receptionists$2,100$3,800

Ruby is left out because its overage rate isn't published, and Housecall Pro, ServiceTitan and Avoca because they publish no prices.

If you only forward calls after hours

Many HVAC shops answer their own phones during the day and forward only nights and weekends. ServiceTitan's data for residential HVAC in 2025 puts that share at 14.1% of inbound calls in June and 9.8% in October, counting weekday calls before 8 am or after 5 pm and all weekend calls as off-hours. Applied to the shop above, that is about 71 after-hours calls in June and 25 in October.

ServiceOctober (about 25 calls)June (about 71 calls)
Jobber Receptionist$29$61
Rosie$49$49
Goodcall$79$79
My AI Front Desk$99$111
Smith.ai AI receptionist$150$150
PATLive$185$446
Botcadence Voice AI$299$299
Smith.ai live receptionists$300$772
AnswerConnect$350$395

Here we used the cheapest plan in each month, since these volumes fit small plans. At these volumes several AI services cost less than Botcadence. Our plan makes more sense once you forward overflow during the day as well, or when the escalation and booking steps below matter more than the monthly price.

The fine print that changes the bill

Rounding. AnswerConnect rounds every interaction up to the next minute. A 2-minute-10-second call is billed as 3. Botcadence bills a 15-second minimum and then 30-second steps. Ruby and Rosie don't state their increment on the pricing page, so ask.

Spam and robocalls. HVAC lines get plenty of them.

  • Goodcall doesn't count spam or wrong numbers.
  • Jobber doesn't count spam or calls with no real interaction.
  • Smith.ai's AI plan filters known spammers and lets you remove up to 10% of calls each cycle.
  • AnswerConnect doesn't charge for the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds each cycle.
  • ServiceTitan bills every call, whatever its outcome.
  • On Botcadence a 10-second robocall is billed as 15 seconds.

After-call work. PATLive says it doesn't charge for notes and wrap-up. Ask any live service whether the minutes an operator spends writing up your call are billed.

Overage you can't see. Rosie, Sameday and Ruby don't publish overage rates. Ask what June costs before you sign.

Fees outside the plan. AnswerConnect lists a $49.99 setup fee on some plans. PATLive notes that government taxes and fees are added.

Cost per booked job: the number to compare

The monthly bill matters less than what each booked job costs, which is the bill divided by the jobs booked from those calls. ServiceTitan's call data for the trades (May 2025 to July 2026) found shops with more than 50 technicians booked 58% of calls, and shops with 10 or fewer booked 30%. ServiceTitan notes its data isn't representative of the whole industry.

At 250 October calls, a 30% booking rate is 75 booked jobs:

Monthly billCost per booked job (75 jobs)
$129 (Goodcall)$1.72
$299 (Botcadence)$3.99
$1,281 (AnswerConnect)$17.08
$2,100 (Smith.ai live receptionists)$28.00

The gap between plans is small next to the value of a job. What moves the number is how many calls become jobs, which depends on:

  • whether the call is answered before the caller tries the next company
  • whether the price question gets a real answer (your diagnostic or visit fee)
  • whether the caller is offered two specific times instead of a callback
  • whether a no-heat call with an infant at home wakes your on-call tech

Our free HVAC CSR booking call script covers the booking steps, and the HVAC emergency triage call script covers gas smells, carbon monoxide alarms and no-heat calls. Test both against any service you shortlist. For how to measure your own booking rate, and why published figures disagree, see HVAC booking rate benchmarks. If after-hours calls are the main reason you're shopping, set the rules first with our HVAC after-hours policy guide.

Answering service vs hiring a CSR

The Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median wage for customer service representatives at $21.53 an hour, or $44,770 a year, in May 2025. That is before payroll taxes, benefits and training. One full-time CSR covers about 40 of the 168 hours in a week, so round-the-clock coverage by staff alone takes more than four full-time people.

That is why most HVAC shops keep a CSR or office manager for business hours and use an answering service for nights, weekends and overflow. The CSR knows your customers and your board; the service makes sure the 9 pm no-cooling call in June doesn't go to voicemail.

Prices you have to ask for

Three products that come up in HVAC searches publish no price:

  • Housecall Pro CSR AI has no price on its feature page.
  • ServiceTitan AI Voice Agent is billed on usage, and every call counts toward the bill.
  • Avoca has no pricing page.

When you ask for a quote, get these in writing:

  1. The billing increment, and whether after-call work, hold time and transfers count.
  2. What spam, robocalls and hang-ups cost.
  3. The overage rate, and your bill for last June, not last October.
  4. Setup fees, the contract length and the notice period.
  5. How many calls it answers at the same time.
  6. What happens on a gas-smell or carbon monoxide call, word for word.

Where Botcadence fits

HVAC companies run Botcadence on the Voice AI plan.

Price: $299 a month for 1,500 minutes, then $35 per 200 extra minutes. See pricing.

Billing: a 15-second minimum, then 30-second steps.

Setup: done with you in about 5 business days. You keep your number and forward after hours, on overflow or 24/7; our call forwarding guide has the carrier codes, and the inbound voice agent page covers the forwarding modes.

On each call:

  • answers up to your account's concurrent-call limit, in English or Spanish
  • tells callers with a gas smell, a CO alarm or smoke to get outside and call 911 or the gas company
  • asks who is in the home and how hot or cold it is, and starts your on-call escalation for urgent calls, which texts and calls your techs and backups until someone replies
  • warm-transfers to the on-call tech with a spoken brief, or books routine work into Google Calendar and texts the caller a confirmation
  • sends records to your CRM through native connectors, or to field-service software through Zapier or webhooks where that software accepts them

The AI receptionist for HVAC page shows the call types, and AI for HVAC companies covers chat and texting beyond the phone.

It is not the cheapest option at every volume:

  • Per minute: Rosie costs less, about 15 cents a minute on its $149 and $299 plans against our 20.
  • Low volume: Goodcall costs less for a shop with few unique callers, and Jobber Receptionist costs less if you already run Jobber and have fewer than about 370 conversations a month.
  • A person on every call: a live service costs several times more, but it is the right buy if that is what you want.

Our advice:

  1. Price your June, not your October.
  2. Call every shortlisted service with a gas-smell story and a no-heat story.
  3. Then compare the cost per booked job.

Questions readers ask

HVAC Answering Service Cost (2026) FAQ

At 250 three-minute calls a month, prices checked on October 23, 2026 ran from $129 to $789 for AI receptionists and $1,281 to $2,100 for live answering services. Forwarding only after-hours calls costs much less: $29 to $772 a month in our model.

Usually, and the gap widens in peak season. In our model, live plans went from $1,281 to $2,100 in October to $2,900 to $3,800 in June, while most AI plans stayed under $500. Live services bill operator time by the minute or call; AI plans price minutes in cents.

On most Jobber plans it is a $29 a month add-on with 30 conversations, then 79 cents per conversation, according to Jobber's help center on October 23, 2026. It is included with unlimited use on the Plus plan. Spam and calls with no real interaction aren't counted.

Neither publishes a price. ServiceTitan says its AI Voice Agent is billed on usage and every call counts toward the bill, whatever its outcome. Housecall Pro's CSR AI page has no price, so ask both for a written quote that covers your busiest month.

Price your peak month rather than your quiet one, ask for the billing increment and the overage rate in writing, and divide each bill by the jobs it books. Then test each service with a gas-smell call and a no-heat call before you sign.

Sources

  1. Botcadence pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  2. Rosie pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  3. Goodcall pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  4. My AI Front Desk pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  5. Sameday pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  6. Smith.ai AI receptionist pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  7. Smith.ai receptionist pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  8. Jobber pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  9. Jobber help: Receptionist powered by Jobber AI (checked October 23, 2026)
  10. Housecall Pro: CSR AI (checked October 23, 2026)
  11. ServiceTitan help: AI Voice Agent for Basic Phones and Phones Pro FAQ (checked October 23, 2026)
  12. Avoca: HVAC (checked October 23, 2026)
  13. PATLive pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  14. AnswerConnect plans (checked October 23, 2026)
  15. Ruby pricing (checked October 23, 2026)
  16. ServiceTitan: HVAC summer after-hours call spike (State of the Trades, June 2026) (checked October 23, 2026)
  17. ServiceTitan: Call trends in the trades (checked October 23, 2026)
  18. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Customer service representatives (checked October 23, 2026)

Written by

ยท Co-Founder, Botcadence

Jaffar Jawed co-founded Botcadence in 2025 and leads product and go-to-market. He writes about AI voice agents, inbound answering workflows, lead qualification and the telephony stack behind real-time voice, including the company's open-source work on LiveKit noise and echo cancellation.

Get Started Today

See These Strategies in Action

Book a free demo and we will build a working AI agent for the channel this article covers, tailored to your business goals. No commitment required.

  • Free plan, no credit card
  • Managed voice live in about 5 business days
  • Works with your existing tools

Ask AI about this page